National League of NursingNational League of Nursing

The Voice of Nursing Education

2019 NLN Awards


The 2019 NLN Awards

Mary-Adelaide-Nutting-Award Isabel-Hampton-Robb-Award Lillian-Ward-Award
Award Presentations
Saturday, September 28, 6:00 PM
The NLN Summit 2019 Honors Convocation

Washington, DC

nutting-portraitThe NLN Mary Adelaide Nutting Award for Outstanding Teaching or Leadership in Nursing Education

An American educator, administrator, and author in the field of nursing, Mary Adelaide Nutting is considered the world's first professor of nursing.

  • Criteria

  • Past Awardees:

robb-portraitThe NLN Isabel Hampton Robb Award for Outstanding Leadership in Clinical Practice

Isabel Adams Hampton was the head of the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing, wrote several influential textbooks, and helped to found the organizations that became known as the National League for Nursing, the International Council of Nurses, and the American Nurses Association.


  • Criteria

wald-portraitNLN Lillian Wald Humanitarian Award

Lillian D. Wald was a nurse; social worker; public health official; teacher; author; editor; publisher; activist for peace, women’s, children’s, and civil rights; and the founder and first president of the National Organization for Public Health Nursing. Her unselfish devotion to humanity is recognized around the world and her visionary programs have been widely copied.


  • Criteria